The Mustafa (pbuh) Prize for Science & Technology in the Islamic World Second Round Launched in Tehran- Iran, December 03, 2017

Go Back


The 2017 Mustafa (pbuh) Prize Ceremony was held on December 3, 2017 at Tehran’s Vahdat Hall, coinciding with the birth anniversary of Great Prophet Muhammad (pbuh). The Mustafa (pbuh) Prize is a top science and technology award granted to the top researchers and scientists of the Organization of Islamic Cooperation (OIC) member states biennially. The Prize is awarded in four categories, namely “Life Sciences and Medical Sciences”, “Nano Science and Nanotechnologies”, “The Information and Communication Science and Technologies”, and “Top Scientific Achievement in other fields”. The laureates in each section are awarded 500,000 USD which is financed through the endowments made to the Prize. The two winners of the 2nd round of Mustafa (pbuh) are Prof. Erol Gelenbe from turkey and Prof. Mohammad Amin Shokrollahi from Iran in Information and Communications Science and Technology and Information Theory.

Over sixty prominent scholars and scientists from Islamic countries participated in the event of 2017. Prof. Romain Murenzi the Executive Director of The World Academy of Sciences (TWAS) for the advancement of science in developing countries, in his keynote speech highlighted the importance of Prize and congratulated the laureates as. He noted that the laureates are a roles model for society who constantly portray a strenuous effort in carrying social responsibilities and specify an appropriate symbol of precious world in society. They are the one who also play an important role in broadening the scientific borders for public welfare.

Earlier, Mahdi Safarinia, Secretary of Mustafa (pbuh) Prize Policy-making Council, congratulated the audience on the gracious occasion of the Prophet Muhammad (pbuh)’s birthday and welcomed the participating guests. He noted that the Mustafa (pbuh) Prize initiation has been not only a mere award, but also a social move as other Islamic countries participate and accompany in the global scientific activities together with Iran. “Mustafa (pbuh) Prize is laying the foundation to restore the Islamic Golden Age and benefit and empower other states,” he added. He thanked Mustafa (pbuh) Prize Policy-making Council, scientific workgroup, and in particular ECO Science Foundation (ECOSF) helping in the process of the Prize. ECOSF is proud to be a part of Mustafa (pbuh) Prize since its establishment in 2015.

Sorena Sattari, the chairman of Mustafa (pbuh)  prize Policy Making Council, gave a speech to admire this summit. Primarily he stated that: "This summit is held by the name of prophet Muhammad (pbuh) who always accentuating the science. Prophet Muhammad (pbuh) introduced ignorance as the most frightful enemy. In past years Muslims had great platform for all human from all over the world." He mentioned that "Muslims have never made any weapon to kill humans and they had been struggling for equality between all human beings due to their beliefs which were taught by Prophet Muhammad (pbuh). He added: "It is another time to use our authenticity to establish a new modern civilization. That would be our platform to show the world our science discoveries and innovation which demonstrate our honor and authority among all people. This platform based on lately innovative discoveries leads to welfare of not only Muslims but also all human beings.

Subsequently the Prizes were awarded to the two winners with great applaud from the audience. Both the winners were invited to briefly remark on their winning the prestigious Prize which is considered as Nobel Prize in the Islamic World.

On behalf of ECOSF, its President Prof. Dr. Manzoor Hussain Soomro participated in the ceremony and contributed in the Prize Policy-making Council meeting later with a suggestion to expand the programme to school and university level. He also appreciated the efforts of Mustafa Science and Technology Foundation (MSTF) running of Noor student competition specially designed for young scientists with more than 3600 scientific ideas submitted aimed at launching and supporting developed research projects. It is pertinent to mention that ECOSF has been supporting and collaborating with MSTF since its first round of Mustafa (pbuh) Prize held at 2015. Professor Omar Yaghi from Jordan in the Nanoscience and Nanotechnology and Professor Jackie Ying from Singapore in Bio-nanotechnology category, were the recipients of this award. 

After the closing of Mustafa (pbuh) Prize ceremony, Prof. Soomro was interviewed by different media personnel. His opinions regarding the current state of Science and Technology in the Muslim World and Role of Science and technology awards in inspiring and promoting of Science and Technology in Muslim societies were sought.

In the evening the Mustafa (pbuh) Prize banquet was hosted by the organizers. On the occasion the annual meeting of the Mustafa Prize Policy-making Council was held to review the progress and plans of the Mustafa (pbuh) Science and Technology Foundation. The Foreign Minister of Iran H.E. Mr. Javad Zarif and Vice President of Iran for Science and Technology H.E Mr. Sorena Sattari as well as other members of the council including Professor Majali President of Islamic World Academy of Sciences and Vice President of Islamic Development Bank also attended the meeting.

ECO Science Foundation © All rights reserved.